Stills from 2014 Award Winning Films, Various Directors


Other Worlds Austin SciFi Film Festival wrapped up its inaugural season today by announcing its Audience Award winners for 2014. More than 250 films were submitted to the first-time festival. A passionate and engaged audience ultimately had to choose from 11 features and 30 shorts, all Texas premieres.

The Audience Award winning feature is TIME LAPSE, directed by Bradley King and written by BP Cooper and Bradley King. The film centers on three roommates who discover their scientist neighbor dead. In his apartment, a giant experimental camera aimed at their apartment takes pictures 24 hours into the future. Exploiting the machine, they enjoy being one step ahead in life, until the machine starts spitting out disturbing images. A Hitchcockian thriller, Time Lapse is part indie love triangle comedy, part SciFi mystery and is sure to make your head hurt.

The Audience Award winning short is ONE-MINUTE TIME MACHINE, directed by Devon Avery and written by Sean Crouch. In the film, James is all too eager to put his one-minute time machine to use in winning the heart of Regina, until he discovers the unexpected consequences of his actions.“It is sort of funny our audience selected two time-travel films as the winners,” said Bears Fonté, OWA Founder and Director of Programming, “both of which are full of humor and a dark edge. As our Centerpiece Film, Time Lapse really represents the best in SciFi and Indie filmmaking. One-Minute Time Machine is a brilliant, simple short that really whirls the audience through a variety of different laughs in a six-minute running time.”

Both winning films will receive a cash prize for their victory. “The audience is our jury,” says Fonté; “it was really exciting to put the decision not into the hands of industry movers and shakers but SciFi fans themselves.”

In addition, Other Worlds Austin announced the winners of the Cthulhies, a series of awards given by the programming team in areas such as Script, Cinematography, Visual Effects and Acting. Some highlights include The Perfect 46 taking home both Best Director (Brett Ryan Bonowicz) and Best Actor (Whit Herford). Time Lapse took home awards in Best Script, Best Actress (Danielle Panabaker), and Best Score.  In Shorts, The Sun Devil and the Princess received the most Cthulhies, receiving commendations in Emerging Director (Steven Ayromlooi), Emerging Actress (Mandy Amano) and Emerging Production Design and Art Direction.)


Time Lapse

One-Minute Time Machine


  • Best Script: Time Lapse
  • Best Director: Brett Ryan Bonowicz (The Perfect 46)
  • Best Actor: Whit Herford (The Perfect 46)
  • Best Actress: Danielle Panabaker (Time Lapse)
  • Best Cinematography: The Reconstruction of William Zero
  • Best Editing: APT 3D
  • Best Score or Music: Time Lapse
  • Best VFX: Bloody Knuckles
  • Best Production Design: The Well


  • Emerging Script: Martian American
  • Emerging Director: Steven Ayromlooi (The Sun Devil and the Princess)
  • Emerging Actor: Patrick Edward Wynne (Slumptown)
  • Emerging Actress: Mandy Amano (The Sun Devil and the Princess)
  • Emerging Cinematography: Gasmask
  • Emerging Editing: One-Minute Time Machine
  • Emerging Score or Music: The House At The Edge of the Galaxy
  • Emerging VFX: The Developer
  • Emerging Production Design: The Sun Devil and the Princess